New(s)

I haven’t written a post in a few weeks, probably because I’ve had a lot going on. Also, I’ve been wondering about how much I can/should actually write on here. It’s not a private diary, yet I feel like using this blog like a bit of a journal… But I’m aware I should be careful about what I publish on the tinterweb, and I don’t think I’m quite ready to discuss the things I really want to talk about – yet.

New Housemate

Yesterday I went to Ikea to buy a bed for the guest bedroom… Yes, my couch surfer is turning into a proper housemate!!She has been away for a few weeks, visiting family, but when she comes back she will properly move into the 2nd bedroom. On Monday my handyman, Luigi (you’re humming the Mario theme tune right now, aren’t you?!) spent the day at my house, sorting a few things. He removed the horrible fireplace so a piece of furniture can go against the wall. He fixed some of the floor boards that were dangerously wonky. He also installed the wardrobe doors in the main bedroom… Those doors had been “in storage” (i.e. in the guest bedroom) for nearly a year, so it was about time!

bedroom wardrobe
New wardrobe doors!

I now have to build the bed, put up curtains, and arrange the room, before my house mate comes back towards the end of the month. Exciting!

New Job

In other exciting news, I got a new job…! I have been doing my current role for two years, and since last summer I was starting to feel less-than-challenged at work. The new position is for the same company, but in a different department; I will be doing something completely different, much more technical. Those who know me might be wondering “wtf?” as they know how NOT technically-minded I am. I’m a woman of words, communication, people, relationships… – not of numbers, cables and coding. But actually, I am really looking forward to learning new skills altogether; I think it will be outside of my comfort zone, which is not a bad thing. So I should be moving to my new role in the middle of next month, which mean the few weeks to come are bound to be very busy!

 

New Books

I got a random message from one of my friends the other week. I smiled when I read it, because I could have taken it the wrong way… But I chose not to:

20170814_144050
This reminded me that I have actually wanted to buy some self-help books for a while – I struggle to concentrate on fiction these days, but perhaps I can focus on a different type of reading. Plus, I am really interested in psychology, and anything that will help me understand myself and others better. A few days later, I stumbled upon a classic in a second-hand book shop: “Feel the fear, and do it anyway” by Susan Jeffers. I bought it, then ordered a 2nd copy online for my friend as he told me he hadn’t read it.

 

Leave a comment